08. Teaching becomes a dead end job


(Pic: Internet)

As I am also in the School Administration, I was looking for some training programs for few new and old (I mean ‘senior’) teachers of the school. I believe in the saying – the school is what the teacher is. I am not an overly experienced teaching professional in any way. But this is common sense. I also believe that, just like any other profession, teachers constantly need to upgrade their skill and refresh their minds.

Anyway, I talked with three of the teachers and informed them about a training program that would, I thought, help them move towards competency and professionalism. They were half-excited about the prospect. I told them the school was also ready to bear half of the cost of the training. Then the typical indifferent attitude in their response. Training. Extra hours. Two more hours for a week. Missing private tuition classes. Excuses. And excuses.

The training was not that expensive at all. The school could have managed the entire expense and sent those teachers to the training for free. But, I thought the teachers should ‘invest’ from their part as well, after all they are getting a chance to enhance their skill and gain new perspective on teaching.

I was really stunned when they gave me excuses to avoid the training. If I had got similar opportunity, I would have jumped right in with total enthusiasm.

Then, I just remembered what one of my senior teachers had told me a few years ago – “in Nepal, most of the school teachers do not chose the job to be teachers, they just need something to do for a time being while making plans for better profession. Few find that ‘better’ profession, but many get stuck with the teaching job, something they never planned for. Teaching becomes a dead end job for them.”

It could be true, almost true. They have turned teaching job into an excuse, one more in their pile of excuses.

I just smiled and said a simple “Sure. No problem” to those teachers. I still had hope that some other teachers would be excited for the training.

**

While I was googling for blogs by Nepali English teachers, I found a similar grievance on this article by Ram Abadhesh Ray.

As soon as Dr. Bhandari announced that the training was without allowance, the faces of the reputed teachers of the government school were to see. They started feeling disappointment and as there was break for half an hour and then after break no government teachers were seen in training session and Dr. Bhandari was amazed and we too.” (sic)

Read the complete article here: Teacher training: for money or for professionalism?

3 thoughts on “08. Teaching becomes a dead end job

  1. Pingback: Private Schools and Their Teachers | London Private Schools, Private Schools In London UK

  2. This article is hogwash. Teaching IS a dead end job and now you want teachers to allocate money towards a bullshit training being offered by some corporate crony who was probably in the classroom for a year or two. Please! Teachers already spend thousands of dollars of their own money to purchase basic supplies for their students. This is the responsibility of the school districts not the individual teachers. Furthermore, teachers work at least 60 hours a week for which they are only paid for 37.5 and now you want to add more uncompensated time to that ratio! You are insane and totally out of touch. It is because of attitudes like this that I left that thankless so called “profession” a few months back and in 18 months I will be in a job where my talents are respected and my pay is commensurate with my responsibilities (Physician Assistant). I always have to chuckle when an administrator believes they can talk down to teachers. Administrators in many cases could not hack it in the classroom and that is why they chose their career path in addition to the overcompensation that the receive for the work they put in. Furthermore, that mickey mouse Master’s Degree in Educational Leadership that they print in every college imanginable does not make you a more qualified individual than a teacher per se. In fact, the Bachelor’s Degree I have in Mathematics trumps even a Doctorate in Educational Leadership. Please it is time for you to come down from your throne; the US gets what it pays for when it comes to its teachers. Product in equals product out. There are way to many cronies in education with fancy titles whom can’t even explain what they do on a day to day basis all making six figures while trying to blame the minimum wage teachers for all of societies ills.

    • It’s a thankless job and I’m glad you are no longer into it. Thank you for your comment but the context is a little bit different here in NEPAL where many many many teachers do not have prior ‘teaching’ experience or training. Our society in general thinks that teaching is the easiest job in the world and thus almost everyone who is looking for another job or trying to finish college jump into the profession (again, thinking that teaching is easy).

Leave a Reply

